Early day motion 651

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the visit of Bishop William Nolan, Bishop of Galloway and President of Justice and Peace Scotland and Bishop Paul McAleenan, Auxiliary Bishop of Westminster and Lead Bishop for Asylum and Migration to Calais on 28-29 November 2017 as guests of the Maria Skobtsova Catholic Worker House; understands that this charity supports vulnerable people including refugees in Calais; recognises that the destruction of the so-called Jungle camp has made many people, including unaccompanied asylum-seeking children, vulnerable to increasing hostility and restrictions from local authorities; understands that these restrictions include bans on food distribution, the provision of showers, and the confiscation of sleeping bags and tents; further understands that there have been reports of migrants being pepper-sprayed; commends the endeavours of those in Calais who continue to support all fleeing persecution and exploitation; hopes that, as the Advent season begins, people of all faiths and none will recognise the nativity crib image of a displaced family seeking sanctuary as representative of the importance of making welcome the stranger; considers the joint statement issued by Bishop Nolan and Bishop McAleenan which calls on the Government to embrace the true spirit of the Dubs Amendment and extend the provision beyond the original timeframe of March 2016, streamline the implementation of the Dublin III Regulations and establish facilities that will allow migrants to raise their asylum claims from Europe; and urges the UK and French Governments jointly to develop infrastructures to enable dignified living in Calais.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 21.12.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.12.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 07.12.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 11.12.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.12.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 07.12.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 05.12.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 21.12.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.12.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 06.12.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 11.12.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 06.12.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 05.12.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 12.12.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.12.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 06.12.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 06.12.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.12.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 06.12.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 07.12.2017