Early day motion 641

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the variations in costs of energy bills between different regions and nations of the UK, some as large as £139; notes that the network companies responsible for those variations make £6.6 billion in profits, and with profit margins of up to 40 per cent; believes that it is in the interests of consumers to end the practice of charging different prices in different regions and nations; further believes that consumers should instead pay one price for their energy no matter where they live; further notes that the cost to implement the change would be a tenth of network company profits and would see bills cut for the vast majority of consumers; and calls on the Government and Ofgem to make these changes to ensure the postcode lottery in energy is ended at no cost to the taxpayer.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 21.12.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 19.12.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 08.01.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.12.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.12.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 04.12.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 06.12.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.12.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 05.12.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 04.12.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.12.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.12.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 12.12.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 06.12.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 11.12.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 05.12.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 07.12.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 05.12.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 13.12.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.12.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 04.12.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 12.12.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.12.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 06.12.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.12.2017