Early day motion 617

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House calls on the Government to acknowledge that 50 is the internationally-recognised optimal age at which bowel cancer screening should begin; further calls for a commitment from the Government to reduce the age for bowel cancer screening from 60 to 50 in England to bring policy in line with Scotland, and for the devolved administrations in Wales and Northern Ireland to also follow suit; notes that bowel cancer is the UK's second biggest cancer killer and that around 41,000 people are diagnosed with bowel cancer each year, more than one in 10 of whom are in their 50s; further notes that being diagnosed early, stage 1, offers a 97 per cent survival rate, while being diagnosed late, stage 4, carries a survival rate of just seven per cent; notes the online petition in support of lowering the screening age to 50 on Change.org which has gathered the support of over 375,000 people, and counting; and welcomes the recommendation from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence that the FIT test should be used to guide referral of possible bowel cancer patients, giving GPs a clear alternative to endoscopy as a first line of investigation and potentially delivering substantial cost-savings.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 77

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 77 out of 77

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 16.01.2018
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 30.11.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.12.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 07.12.2017
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 11.12.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 08.01.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.12.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 17.01.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 19.12.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.12.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 30.11.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 05.12.2017
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 20.12.2017
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 16.01.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.12.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 20.12.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 11.12.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 07.12.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.12.2017
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 09.01.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 08.01.2018
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 29.01.2018
Gill, Preet Labour Party Birmingham Edgbaston 08.01.2018
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.01.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.12.2017
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 11.12.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 24.01.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 18.12.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 20.12.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 08.01.2018
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 11.12.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.12.2017
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 18.12.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 08.01.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.12.2017
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party Harwich and Essex North 25.01.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 07.12.2017
Lewis, Ivan Labour Party Bury South 23.01.2018
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 29.11.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.12.2017
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 11.12.2017
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 21.12.2017
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 21.12.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 19.01.2018
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.03.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 18.12.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 21.02.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 19.12.2017
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 13.03.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 18.12.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 20.12.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.12.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 11.12.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 22.01.2018
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.01.2018
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 18.12.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 08.01.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 20.12.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.12.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 06.12.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 12.12.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.12.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.12.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 05.12.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 08.01.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 07.12.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.12.2017
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 11.12.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 20.12.2017
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 12.12.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 12.12.2017
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 18.04.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 14.12.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 08.01.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.12.2017
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 21.12.2017
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 12.12.2017