Early day motion 6

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the University of Glasgow on celebrating its 60th anniversary of computing; recognises that the University of Glasgow became the first university in Scotland to acquire an electronic computer in 1957; acknowledges the history of the university's machine, a Digital Electronic Universal Computing Engine, which was initiated by the then Director of Computing, Dennis Gilles; notes the School of Computing Science has planned a series of events throughout 2017 to mark the anniversary; further notes that the events will bring together researchers, alumni and members of the university community geared towards highlighting education, student entrepreneurship, scholarship and research; and commends the university for its work in preserving the history of Scottish computing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 04.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 20.07.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.06.2017
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 27.06.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 06.07.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 21.06.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 04.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 04.07.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 04.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.07.2017
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 26.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 21.06.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.07.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 21.06.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 21.06.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 27.06.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.06.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 22.06.2017
Sweeney, Paul Labour Party Glasgow North East 26.06.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 21.06.2017