Early day motion 548

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the reduction in financial support given to widowed parents with dependent children through the new Bereavement Support Payment (BSP); believes that the duration of 18 months of payments is too short to provide families with the financial support they need; recognises that the limited evidence that is available suggests the risk of serious distress following bereavement for either or both the parent and children remains high for at least three years for almost every family, and in some cases for much longer; and therefore calls on the Government to extend the duration of these payments to at least six years and to consider further reforms to the BSP system including lifting full conditionality requirements for universal credit for a widowed parent with dependent children for at least three years after the bereavement and extending the BSP to unmarried, cohabiting partners with dependent children when one parent dies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 15.11.2017
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 21.11.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 15.11.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.11.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 18.04.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 15.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.11.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 15.11.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 21.11.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 15.11.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.11.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 21.11.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.11.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.11.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.11.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 21.11.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 23.11.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 27.11.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 16.11.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.11.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 16.11.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 15.11.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 04.12.2017
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 20.02.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 21.11.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 16.11.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.11.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.11.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 16.11.2017