Early day motion 509

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is very concerned about the three-year prison sentences handed down recently in Bahrain for alleged terrorism offences committed by three family members of the UK-based Bahraini human rights activist, Sayed Ahmed Alwadaei; notes that the trial has been widely criticised, including by UN experts, and seen as an attempt to punish and silence Mr Alwadaei; is also concerned by the purported defamation in statements made by the Bahraini Embassy in the UK in connection with the case; is alarmed by the continuing deterioration in the human rights situation in Bahrain, marked by the approval of a constitutional amendment allowing civilians to be tried before a military court, the on-going trial of prominent human rights defender Nabeel Rajab and further charges, which appear to be politically motivated, brought against imprisoned opposition leader Sheikh Ali Salman; recalls the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights stating at the Human Rights Council session in September 2017 that the democratic space in the country has essentially been shut down and that no public relations campaign can paper over the violations being inflicted on the people of Bahrain; asks the Government of Bahrain to remove illegal restrictions on the activities of civil society and of peaceful opposition and to end politically motivated prosecutions immediately; and calls on the Government to raise these concerns with the Bahraini Government and to demonstrate the value of its assistance to them.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 80

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 80 out of 80

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 21.11.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 13.12.2017
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 25.01.2018
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 12.12.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 23.01.2018
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.11.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 07.11.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.11.2017
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 23.07.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.05.2018
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 20.11.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 08.01.2018
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 06.11.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 08.02.2018
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 05.02.2018
Creagh, Mary Labour Party Wakefield 30.01.2018
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 30.01.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 24.01.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.11.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 18.01.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 20.02.2018
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 29.01.2018
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 15.11.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.11.2017
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 15.10.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 02.02.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 10.01.2018
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.11.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 04.09.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 21.11.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.11.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 24.01.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 19.12.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 14.11.2017
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 19.07.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.11.2017
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 10.01.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.05.2018
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 04.07.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 30.01.2018
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 01.03.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 19.04.2018
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 16.03.2018
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 15.11.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 13.11.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 04.09.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.11.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 14.11.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.02.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 24.05.2018
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 07.11.2017
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 06.07.2018
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 21.03.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.01.2018
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 30.01.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.06.2018
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 27.06.2018
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 25.01.2018
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 13.03.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 13.11.2017
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 12.03.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 23.07.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.06.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.11.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.07.2018
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 11.07.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 27.11.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.02.2018
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 07.11.2017
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 29.01.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 12.03.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 07.11.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 18.12.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 10.01.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 20.02.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 23.11.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 30.01.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 05.02.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 07.03.2018