Early day motion 494

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes there can be no compromise to safety in the maintenance and renewal of the railways; recognises concerns raised by the Rail Industry Association and RMT union over the current threat to Network Rail's supply chain and skills base caused by the deferral of £3.7 billion of renewals which was due for completion by 2019 but has now been put back by up to five years; is concerned that the feast or famine approach to work allocation, short-term funding periods of five years and the increasing commercialisation of Network Rail is contributing to casualisation of the workforce resulting in the loss of jobs, skills and standards; notes the announced £47.9 billion funding to Network Rail for 2019 to 2024 of which £34.7 billion is from the taxpayer and the vast majority of the remainder from fares; further notes that this will be linked to more cuts, commercialisation and fragmentation; further believes it should instead be linked to stamping out casualisation and gig economy style employment practices which the safety regulator has described as not conducive to a safe railway; is deeply concerned that recent reviews into Network Rail have contained no proper analysis of the benefits of ending outsourcing and casualisation despite evidence that when rail infrastructure work has been brought in-house on a unified basis it has made hundreds of millions in savings; and calls for a Government review and an end to the casualisation of the safety-critical rail infrastructure workforce.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.11.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 02.11.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.11.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 06.11.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 02.11.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 13.11.2017
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 02.11.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.11.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.11.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.11.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 02.11.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 02.11.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 13.11.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.11.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.11.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 02.11.2017
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 02.11.2017
Smith, Laura Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 02.11.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 02.11.2017
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 25.01.2018