Early day motion 483

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House joins the Government to express serious concerns over the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) role in human rights violations in Iran and support for terrorism abroad, including destabilising activities in the region and reports of Iran's links and backing of military and proscribed groups; notes that the IRGC is actively involved in slaughtering the people of Syria to keep the dictator Assad in power and recruits child soldiers and refugees from Afghanistan and trains them to become terrorist fighters; believes senior IRGC commanders are on Interpol's Red Notice list for acts of international terrorism including the 1994 bombing of a Jewish community centre in Buenos Aires; reiterates that the IRGC only answers to the Supreme Leader and is responsible for suppression of Iranian people including the 2009 uprising, crackdown on human rights defenders, activists, journalists and anti-death penalty campaigners as well as arbitrary arrests of dual citizens; further notes IRGC's role in assassinating Iranian dissidents abroad, including members of the main opposition coalition, PMOI and NCRI; recognises IRGC's involvement in Iran's ballistic missile and nuclear programme; takes into account that the IRGC is considered a terrorist group by international allies including the US; share the Government's view that IRGC's support for terrorism undermines prospects for regional security and lasting peace in the region; calls on the Government to include the IRGC on the list of proscribed organisations, impose punitive measures against its officials and to work with allies to expel the IRGC from Syria, Iraq and the Middle East.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 22.11.2017
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 02.11.2017
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 05.12.2017
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 30.11.2017
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 31.10.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.11.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.12.2017
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 22.11.2017
Buck, Karen Labour Party Westminster North 30.11.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.11.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 22.11.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 04.12.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.11.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.12.2017
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 04.12.2017
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.11.2017
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 30.11.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 27.11.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 30.11.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 01.11.2017
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 22.11.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 28.11.2017
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.11.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.11.2017
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 05.12.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.11.2017
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 22.11.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 05.12.2017
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 30.11.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 14.11.2017
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 30.11.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.11.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 11.12.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 30.11.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 11.12.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 04.12.2017
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 15.11.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 15.11.2017
Lopresti, Jack Conservative Party Filton and Bradley Stoke 29.11.2017
Lord, Jonathan Conservative Party Woking 11.12.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 02.11.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.11.2017
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 15.11.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 09.01.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 11.12.2017
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 15.11.2017
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 15.11.2017
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 16.11.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 15.11.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 22.11.2017
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 30.11.2017
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 14.11.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 27.11.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.12.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.11.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 30.11.2017
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 22.11.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.11.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.12.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 05.12.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 29.11.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 22.11.2017
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 14.11.2017
Syms, Robert Conservative Party Poole 20.12.2017
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 11.12.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 29.11.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 04.12.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 30.11.2017
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 15.11.2017
Wood, Mike Conservative Party Dudley South 14.11.2017