Early day motion 457

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned that the UK detains people indefinitely under immigration rules, is the only country in Europe without a time limit on detention and that people can be detained for months and years on end without knowing when they will be released; notes that in the year to June 2017, 27,819 people were detained and that of the nearly 3,000 people detained in June 2017 over half had been locked up for more than 28 days, 271 people for over six months and that 52 per cent of those released from detention were returned to the community; observes that successive reports by the UN High Commissioner for Refugees in 2012, the All-Party Parliamentary Groups on Migration and Refugees in 2015 and Stephen Shaw in 2016 have demonstrated indefinite detention to have a damaging effect on the health of the people concerned; and calls on the Government urgently to reform immigration detention by introducing a 28-day time limit.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 21.11.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.11.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.11.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 30.10.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.10.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 26.10.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 06.11.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 26.10.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 31.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 11.12.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 21.11.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.11.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 28.11.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 20.12.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 11.12.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 31.10.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 02.11.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 29.11.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 01.11.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 30.11.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 31.10.2017
Little Pengelly, Emma Democratic Unionist Party Belfast South 09.10.2018
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.11.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 02.11.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 03.11.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.11.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 31.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 31.10.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 06.11.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.11.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 26.10.2017
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 27.11.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 27.11.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 30.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 26.10.2017
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 14.11.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 15.11.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 31.10.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 25.10.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.12.2017