Early day motion 45

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 16 year olds can enter into marriage and civil partnerships, pay income tax and national insurance, obtain social security benefits in their own right, become a company director, consent to medical treatment, and join the armed forces, a political party or a trade union; believes that young people should be given the chance to fulfil their potential and play a full part in society, including through political engagement and participation in democratic decision-making; notes that the voting age is 16 in Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Cuba, Ecuador, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, and Scotland; further notes that the Wales Act 2017 provides the Welsh Assembly with the power to lower the voting age for its elections; considers that, as part of the first generation to receive citizenship education, the UK's 1.5 million 16 and 17 year olds are as knowledgeable and competent to vote as other young adults; and calls on the Government to give 16 and 17 year olds a say in their long-term future by legislating to reduce the voting age to 16 for all national and local elections and referendums at the earliest possible opportunity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 96

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 96 out of 96

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 29.06.2017
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 27.06.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 26.06.2017
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 28.06.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.06.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.07.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.07.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 29.06.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 27.06.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 03.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.06.2017
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 18.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.06.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 27.06.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 29.06.2017
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 29.06.2017
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 05.07.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.06.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 03.07.2017
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 29.06.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.06.2017
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 28.06.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.06.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 05.07.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 06.07.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 29.06.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.09.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 29.06.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 04.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 04.07.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 12.07.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 27.06.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 12.10.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 04.07.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.11.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.06.2017
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 09.10.2017
Hollern, Kate Labour Party Blackburn 03.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.06.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 05.07.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 03.07.2017
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 10.07.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 29.06.2017
Kyle, Peter Labour Party Hove 29.06.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 28.06.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 27.06.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 27.06.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 29.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 27.06.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 28.06.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.06.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 27.06.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 27.06.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 27.06.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 18.07.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 18.07.2017
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 29.06.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 29.06.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 27.06.2017
Miliband, Edward Labour Party Doncaster North 26.06.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 27.06.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 05.07.2017
Morgan, Stephen Labour Party Portsmouth South 28.06.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.07.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 17.07.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 29.06.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.06.2017
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 06.07.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 11.07.2017
Platt, Joanne Labour Party Leigh 27.06.2017
Pollard, Luke Labour Party Plymouth Sutton and Devonport 28.06.2017
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 05.07.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 04.07.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 27.06.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 26.06.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 05.07.2017
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 26.06.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 27.06.2017
Smith, Laura Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 27.06.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 27.06.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 27.06.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 27.06.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 28.06.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 26.06.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 27.06.2017
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 28.06.2017
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 17.07.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 29.06.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 04.07.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 04.07.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.06.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 03.07.2017