Early day motion 408

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Prime Minister's announcement of an inquiry into the contaminated blood scandal; thanks the Rt. Rev James Jones, former Chair of the Hillsborough Independent Panel, for his voluntary help; supports the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Haemophilia and Contaminated Blood's statement to the Prime Minister about the inquiry on 3 October 2017; and in line with that statement, resolves that the Department of Health is implicated in the disaster, and thus cannot sponsor the inquiry, fund it in any way or oversee the consultation; notes that a statutory inquiry must be established under the Inquiries Act 2005; further notes that the inquiry must put families first, consulting those affected on the chair, panel and terms of reference ensuring they are supported by a public-facing, engaging and properly resourced inquiry secretariat; believes that the inquiry must be led by a panel in addition to a Chair, and the Chair need not necessarily be a judge, that people affected require assurance that the inquiry's conclusions are arrived at independently, without influence from implicated parties, that the inquiry's terms of reference must cover the aftermath of the scandal as well as the run-up to the scandal, including the ex gratia support scheme and allegations of a criminal cover-up; and resolves that the inquiry must not be inhibited by any likelihood of criminal or civil liability being inferred from facts it determines or recommendations it makes and that provided the above condition are satisfied, a Chair to the inquiry can be appointed in November 2017.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 02.11.2017
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 23.10.2017
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 24.10.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.10.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 25.10.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 26.10.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 06.11.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 24.10.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 23.10.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 23.10.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.10.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 23.10.2017
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 23.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 16.11.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.10.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 24.10.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 23.10.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 23.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.10.2017
Hollern, Kate Labour Party Blackburn 24.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.10.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 19.10.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 16.10.2017
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 16.10.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 25.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 24.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 24.10.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 30.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.10.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.11.2017
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 30.10.2017
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.10.2017
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 18.10.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 23.10.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 23.10.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 24.10.2017
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 02.11.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 17.10.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 19.10.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 26.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 20.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.10.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 24.10.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 25.10.2017
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 01.11.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 07.11.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 18.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 24.10.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 03.11.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 31.10.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 18.10.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.10.2017
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 30.10.2017