Early day motion 381

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that research from Citizens Advice indicates that over half of claimants of universal credit are in debt, putting huge anxiety and stress onto families; notes that on average universal credit claimants have less than £4 per month to repay creditors and that the system of advance payments immediately puts claimants into debt; further notes that the six weeks initial waiting period and further payment delays for around 20 per cent of claimants increase the number of claimants who have to resort to loans or debt at the start of their claim; calls on the Government to report monthly to the House on the number of full service claimants on universal credit and the numbers receiving their payments in full and on time, and to pause the roll-out for an urgent review of the level of support received under universal credit, the seven day waiting period for which no payment is made, the 63 per cent clawback of earnings, the work allowances which have been severely cut and the support for families with disabled children which has been abolished within universal credit; urges the Government to ensure that households that combine work with support under universal credit can achieve a decent minimum standard of living, that levels of personal debt are not increased and that universal credit is no longer a factor in the projected increase in child poverty; and further calls on the Government to make it a priority to update the 2011 impact assessment on universal credit on the 10 million households that will be affected.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 11.10.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 25.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.10.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 06.11.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 11.10.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 11.10.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 11.10.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.10.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 18.10.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 11.10.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.10.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 18.10.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 16.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 12.10.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.10.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 24.10.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.10.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 16.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.10.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 19.10.2017
Jones, Sarah Labour Party Croydon Central 11.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 24.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.10.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 16.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.10.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.11.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.10.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 23.10.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 11.10.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 11.10.2017
Platt, Joanne Labour Party Leigh 11.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 17.10.2017
Rodda, Matt Labour Party Reading East 11.10.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.10.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 11.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.10.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.10.2017
Smith, Laura Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 11.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.10.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 16.10.2017
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 11.10.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 11.10.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 12.10.2017