Early day motion 369

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by growing evidence, including reports by Amnesty International and the Law Society, that cuts to legal aid since April 2013, under the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012 (LASPO), have left thousands of the most disadvantaged in society, including children and people with learning disabilities, without the legal advice and support essential to access justice and equality before the law; notes that, in the first year after LASPO came into force, the number of cases in which legal aid was granted fell by 46 per cent from 925,000 to 497,000; further notes that the number of legal aid providers has fallen by 20 per cent from 2,991 to 2,393, leading to the emergence of advice deserts across England and Wales where the provision of free legal advice is disappearing, especially in housing law; shares the view of the Law Society, as expressed in its June 2017 report, Access denied? LASPO four years on, that LASPO has severely undermined access to justice and that this is resulting in the escalation of legal problems and knock-on costs elsewhere in the public sector; welcomes the Government's commitment to undertake a wholsesale review of the impact of LASPO by April 2018; and calls on the Government both to ensure that the review assesses the wider impact of LASPO on public services and to commence and conclude the review as a matter of urgency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 83

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 83 out of 83

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 11.10.2017
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 16.10.2017
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 11.10.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 16.10.2017
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 11.10.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 11.10.2017
Buck, Karen Labour Party Westminster North 11.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.10.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 11.10.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 11.10.2017
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.10.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 11.10.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 11.10.2017
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 11.10.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.10.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 11.10.2017
Dent Coad, Emma Labour Party Kensington 11.10.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 11.10.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 11.10.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.10.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 11.10.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 11.10.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 11.10.2017
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 11.10.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.10.2017
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 11.10.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.10.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 11.10.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.10.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 11.10.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 11.10.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 11.10.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 11.10.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.10.2017
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 11.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.10.2017
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 11.10.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 11.10.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 11.10.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 11.10.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 11.10.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 11.10.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 11.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.10.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 11.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.10.2017
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 11.10.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 11.10.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 11.10.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 11.10.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.10.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 11.10.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 11.10.2017
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 11.10.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 11.10.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 11.10.2017
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 11.10.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 11.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 17.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.10.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 11.10.2017
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 24.10.2017
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 11.10.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.10.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 11.10.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 11.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.10.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 16.10.2017
Stone, Jamie Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 11.10.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 11.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 12.10.2017
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.10.2017
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 11.10.2017
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 11.10.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 31.10.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 11.10.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.10.2017
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 11.10.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 11.10.2017