Early day motion 355

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House agrees that the recommendations of the Women and Equalities Committee report on transgender equality needs to be implemented in full; believes that gender identity includes those who do not identify as either male or female, identify as both, a third gender or are fluid in their identity; notes that long waiting times for gender identity treatment can do harm to patients who should not have to wait longer than the targets for specialist referral; recognises that verbal, physical and sexual assaults towards those with a non-cis gender identity is the highest of all minority hate-crime, with over half of transgender women reporting they have been sexually or physically assaulted; calls on the Government to update the protected characteristic in the Equalities Act 2010 from gender reassignment to gender identity with a statutory code that includes non-binary identities; recommends that specialist GPs should be trained so that they can provide bridging hormones while patients wait to see specialist centres; and further recommends bringing LGBT hate crimes into line with hate crimes based on race and faith by making them aggravated offences.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 20.11.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 25.10.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.10.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 30.10.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.10.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 11.10.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 10.10.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 06.11.2017
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 10.10.2017
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 18.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 17.10.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.10.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 23.10.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 16.10.2017
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 10.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 24.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.10.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 06.11.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.10.2017
Morgan, Stephen Labour Party Portsmouth South 11.10.2017
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 01.11.2017
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 24.10.2017
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 18.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.10.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.10.2017
Smith, Eleanor Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 20.11.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.10.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 10.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.10.2017
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.10.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 12.10.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 19.10.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 23.10.2017