Early day motion 346

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses deep concern at the ongoing widespread horrific violence against the minority Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar, which has resulted in more than 500,000 Rohingya fleeing to Bangladesh since August 2017, making it the world's fastest-developing refugee emergency; notes that survivors in Bangladesh have recounted horrific stories of rape, mass murder and infanticide; further notes that the attacks on the Rohingya, at the hands of the Myanmar police and military, have been systematic and widespread, leading to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein, to describe them as a textbook example of ethnic cleansing; notes that the Rohingya people have faced years of mistreatment at the hands of the Burmese Government and need urgent action; notes that most are living in refugee camps, denied citizenship, basic health care and employment; calls on Myanmar's state counsellor, Aung San Suu Kyi, to speak out against these shocking human rights violations and allow access into the region immediately; and urges the Government to put sustained pressure on the Myanmar Government to end the violence and to allow unhindered access for humanitarian aid to all of the Rakhine State.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 19.10.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.10.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 25.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.10.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.10.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 24.10.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.10.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.10.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 11.10.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.10.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 02.02.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 10.10.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 16.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 17.10.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 16.10.2017
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 20.02.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 19.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 09.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.10.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.11.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 23.10.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.10.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 11.10.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 09.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.10.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 10.10.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.10.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 16.10.2017