Early day motion 327

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed at the 3,744 drug-related deaths registered in England and Wales and the 867 registered in Scotland in 2016; notes with dismay that these rates are far higher than those across Europe; further notes that the majority of these deaths involved an opiate, mostly heroin or morphine; is further alarmed at the threat posed by the far deadlier opiate Fentanyl, which has had a devastating effect in the US and is now causing deaths across the UK; recommends the availability of life-saving Naloxone, which can reverse the effects of opioid overdose, be accelerated as a matter of urgency; and calls on the Government to follow the recommendations of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs and ensure that funding for drug treatment is prioritised and protected in order to address the current crisis.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.10.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 24.10.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 12.10.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.10.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.10.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 16.10.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 17.10.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.09.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.10.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 10.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.10.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 10.10.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 25.10.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 23.10.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.10.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.10.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.10.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.10.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 10.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 09.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.10.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.10.2017
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 25.01.2018