Early day motion 283

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the global food restaurant chain McDonald’s is a hugely profitable multinational corporation and a major employer in the UK; further notes that currently many of its staff are paid below the rate recommended by the Living Wage Commission as the minimum necessary to enable a decent standard of living; regrets that the company's promise to allow workers the opportunity to move off zero-hours contracts of employment has thus far yet to be delivered; further regrets that the company has no trade union recognition agreement in place in the UK; recognises where such recognition agreement exists, such as Denmark or New Zealand, the company remains commercially viable while extending significantly better terms and conditions to staff than exist in the UK; supports the rights of Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union members in Cambridge and Crayford to take industrial action over complaints about the company’s internal grievance procedures in respect of bullying and harassment by managers; and believes that McDonald’s should seek to extend improved pay and rights to all its staff and drop its opposition to trade union negotiations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 12.09.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 12.09.2017
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 07.09.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 13.09.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.09.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.09.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 11.09.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 13.09.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.09.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 11.09.2017
De Cordova, Marsha Labour Party Battersea 11.09.2017
Dent Coad, Emma Labour Party Kensington 06.09.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.09.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 14.09.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 11.09.2017
Gill, Preet Labour Party Birmingham Edgbaston 07.09.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.09.2017
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 11.09.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 11.10.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 11.09.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 12.10.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 11.09.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.10.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 11.09.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.09.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 13.09.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 11.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 12.09.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 13.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 09.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.09.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 14.09.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 07.09.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 06.09.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.11.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.09.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 06.09.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 09.10.2017
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 16.10.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 11.09.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.09.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 07.09.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.09.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 07.09.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.09.2017
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 07.09.2017
Smith, Eleanor Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 09.10.2017
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 11.09.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 07.09.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 06.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 06.09.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 06.09.2017
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 07.09.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 14.09.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 11.09.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 11.09.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 06.09.2017