Early day motion 271

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes NICE's consultation with patients and their representatives on whether to review its clinical guidelines on Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/ME (CG53); notes that myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME) is a serious, debilitating, chronic health condition affecting about 250,000 people in the UK, and is concerned that about half of the patients asked in a number of surveys reported adverse effects on their health from Graded Exercise Therapy (GET) which is recommended by NICE; notes recent biomedical research indicating an abnormal physiological response to exercise in ME patients, and that the US Centre for Disease Control no longer recommends GET for ME; notes also the unanimous call from consultation stakeholders, and a petition of 15,180 patients, for NICE to update its guidelines on ME; and urges NICE to review CG53 and to consider patient experience and recent international scientific evidence in its assessment of the merits of GET for treating ME.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 92

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 92 out of 92

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 09.10.2017
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 16.10.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 09.10.2017
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 02.11.2017
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 16.10.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 22.02.2018
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.10.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.10.2017
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 13.09.2017
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 14.11.2017
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 09.10.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 09.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.09.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 16.10.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 11.10.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 24.10.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 09.10.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 13.09.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.09.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 12.09.2017
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 14.09.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.10.2017
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 14.09.2017
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 13.09.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 12.09.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.09.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 09.10.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 26.10.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 11.10.2017
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.09.2017
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 22.02.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 20.12.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 09.10.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.09.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 09.10.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 27.02.2018
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 05.02.2018
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 16.05.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 20.02.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.09.2017
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 11.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.11.2017
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 19.12.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.09.2017
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 09.10.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 09.10.2017
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 11.09.2017
Little Pengelly, Emma Democratic Unionist Party Belfast South 09.10.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 26.10.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.09.2017
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 13.09.2017
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 17.10.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.10.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 09.10.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 13.09.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.09.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 13.09.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 09.10.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 11.09.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 09.10.2017
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 11.10.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.10.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 09.10.2017
Rodda, Matt Labour Party Reading East 01.11.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 14.09.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.10.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.09.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 14.09.2017
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 09.10.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.09.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 08.01.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 12.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 12.09.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 19.01.2018
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 09.10.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 09.10.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 13.11.2017
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 23.10.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 20.02.2018
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 06.09.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 14.09.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 16.03.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 14.09.2017
Williams, Paul Labour Party Stockton South 07.03.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 05.03.2018
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 09.10.2017
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 25.10.2017
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 09.10.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 06.03.2018