Early day motion 267

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House calls on the Government to undertake an urgent review into road safety on the A19; expresses concern at the regularity and number of accidents on the A19 which frequently result in road closures and diversions through villages and residential areas; believes that the Department for Transport should also undertake a cost-benefit analysis of road improvements compared to the excessive costs to the emergency services when attending road traffic accidents; further believes that there are a number of structural issues such as short slip roads, multiple exits, slow-moving vehicles and significant vehicle volume; recognises issues of driving standards, excessive speed, failure to maintain suitable distances between vehicles and other dangerous driving practices; is concerned at the ongoing austerity cuts by the Government which are restricting resources and reducing officer numbers for Durham Police, the only outstanding police force in the country according to HM Inspector of Police; notes that the A19 is vital for the North East's economy and the local economy on the East Coast; calls on the Government to add substance to its Northern Powerhouse rhetoric by investing in North East road infrastructure and specifically the A19 as a major economic contributor for the region; and demands that the Department for Transport undertake an urgent review of road safety on the A19 to identify necessary structural improvements, the need for greater traffic enforcement and actions to improve driver behaviour and driving standards on the A19.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 10

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 10 out of 10

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.09.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 05.09.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.09.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 05.09.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.09.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.09.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 05.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.09.2017
Williams, Paul Labour Party Stockton South 05.09.2017