Early day motion 266

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the efforts of the FemEng in Rwanda project which recently returned to Glasgow after a trip to Rwanda during which it promoted science and engineering to over 1,000 secondary school pupils there; notes that FemEng in Rwanda is led by eight female engineering students from the University of Glasgow and aims to encourage the participation of young women in the science and engineering fields; is impressed that they have left 180 packs of AFRIpads for their Rwandan team to distribute as they continue giving workshops in more rural areas of the country; further notes that the trip included a celebratory reception at the University of Rwanda, hosted by Vice-Chancellor Phil Cotton, on 21 July 2017 which was attended by representatives form Zipline and Bridges to Prosperity as well as staff from the College of Science and Technology; is further impressed to hear that there will be a club named FutureYou established to continue their work in Rwanda with a focus on careers guidance in STEM and Architecture subjects; and is pleased that FemEng in Rwanda plans to expand further following its previous growth; and looks forward to hearing of its future successes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 07.09.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.10.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.09.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 13.09.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.09.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 05.09.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 07.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 06.09.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 12.09.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 06.09.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 06.09.2017