Early day motion 252

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Forth Valley College in Central Scotland and recognises that, in 2012, the college was one of the first in Scotland to be named as STEM-assured and that this status was re-accredited in 2016; believes that it is one of the leading providers of STEM-related education and training in the UK, with an 87 per cent success rate in its courses, which is 16 per cent above the Scottish sector average, and 18 out of its 19 Engineering Construction Industry Training Board apprentices achieving an A, with the other being awarded a B; notes that it is linked with more than 20 counterparts in other countries, bringing the potential for joint training initiatives involving its eight STEM-embedded departments; recognises its £1.2 million upgrade to the current engineering facilities at its Falkirk campus to provide the best possible atmosphere for learning; further believes that the new £83 million Falkirk Campus, which is due to open in 2019, will have a strong focus on STEM provision and will offer international industry-standard learning environments; understands that the college is one of the largest providers of modern apprenticeships, with more than 1,000 apprentices, many of whom are involved with STEM or similar subjects; commends its commitment to provide high-quality education recognised by the TES FE Award in 2016 for Learning and Teaching and its Association of Colleges Beacon Award for Innovation; and wishes it continued success.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 13

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 13 out of 13

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 07.09.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.10.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 05.09.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 13.09.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.09.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 13.09.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2017
Kerr, Stephen Conservative Party Stirling 06.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 07.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 06.09.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 12.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 06.09.2017