Early day motion 243

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern about the nuclear and missile testing by North Korea and the potential risk that provocative actions, threats and exercises in or near North East Asia and the Pacific which could lead to the use of nuclear weapons by intention or miscalculation; recognises that there are no safe hands for nuclear weapons and that any detonation of a nuclear device would be a humanitarian catastrophe with global impacts; acknowledges that further threatening and isolating the North Korean regime risks increasing the causes of conflict rather than encouraging solutions; urges the Government to use all appropriate diplomatic and international legal means to end nuclear threats, including active support for the UN Secretary-General and the EU in their offer to assist with negotiations with North Korea, and encouraging a return to the Six Party Talks involving China, North Korea, South Korea, Japan, Russia and the US; believes the objective of such talks should be to find immediate and longer term diplomatic solutions, including creating a zone free of nuclear weapons in North East Asia, a process to address the underlying causes of regional insecurity and conflict on the Korean Peninsula, and the promotion of peace, development and cooperative co-existence and security for all peoples in the region; and calls on the Government to reject a military solution to the conflict and urgently use its influence to press for all involved to avoid and refrain from further provocative rhetoric or military exercises and tests.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 07.09.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.09.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 11.10.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 13.09.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.03.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.09.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 12.09.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.09.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.01.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 22.11.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.09.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 01.11.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 13.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 07.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 06.09.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.09.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 06.09.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.09.2017