Early day motion 240

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


This House expresses its deep concern at recent developments in Myanmar; condemns the murderous attacks by militants against Burmese border posts but also the completely disproportionate response of the Burmese military against the Rohingyas who the UN consider are the most persecuted minority group in the world; further condemns the brutal assaults from the Burmese state and military over many years burning down Rohingya villages and carrying out multiple murders and rapes; calls on the de facto Burmese leader Aung San Suu Kyi as a holder of the UN Peace Prize to speak out for the human rights of the Rohingyas and to allow access for aid agencies and journalists to the affected areas; and further calls on the international community to condemn Myanmar's army chief General Min Aung Hlaing, gather evidence for possible war crimes charges against him and his generals, and to impose strong sanctions against them.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 13.09.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 13.09.2017
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 13.09.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 13.09.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.09.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 11.09.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 09.10.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 05.09.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.09.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 09.10.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 14.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.09.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 12.09.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 09.10.2017