Early day motion 235

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes the Government should enter into open and fair negotiations with the Mineworkers Pension Scheme Trustees; recognises the 50-50 surplus sharing arrangement is grossly disproportionate for the Government guarantee; believes that the scheme should solely operate for the benefit of its members who contributed to the fund and worked in some of the most dangerous conditions to the detriment of their health; notes that successive governments have taken significant dividends in excess of £8 billion from the fund which would have otherwise improved the pensions and quality of life for former mineworkers; and, in view of the sums taken from the fund, calls on the Government to reach a fairer surplus sharing agreement to benefit former mineworkers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 08.05.2018
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 24.04.2018
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 12.03.2018
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.07.2017
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 19.12.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 16.04.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.07.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 12.03.2018
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.09.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.09.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 06.09.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.09.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 14.12.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 05.09.2017
Flint, Caroline Labour Party Don Valley 16.04.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.07.2017
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.03.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.09.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 26.02.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.10.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 06.09.2017
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 13.03.2018
Lee, Karen Labour Party Lincoln 17.04.2018
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 30.10.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 17.04.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.07.2017
Miliband, Edward Labour Party Doncaster North 14.03.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.07.2017
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 10.01.2018
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 16.10.2017
Platt, Joanne Labour Party Leigh 19.04.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 18.04.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.09.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.09.2017
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.05.2018
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 05.09.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.07.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 07.09.2017
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.10.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 17.04.2018
Whitfield, Martin Labour Party East Lothian 30.01.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 20.02.2018