Early day motion 231

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern regarding the upcoming trial of the 19 journalists from the newspaper Cumhuriyet in Turkey, which starts on 24 July 2017; calls for the release of these journalists and all other journalists and human rights defenders imprisoned in Turkey in connection with their work; believes that this trial represents a crackdown on freedom of speech in Turkey by the Turkish Government which has seriously accelerated under the state of emergency over the last year; further calls on the Government to ensure that in all discussions with its Turkish counterparts the protection of freedom of speech, freedom of expression and independence of the press is raised; is disappointed that Turkey was ranked 155th out of 180 countries in Reporters Without Borders' 2017 World Press Freedom Index; and condemns the prolonged arbitrary detention without reason and the isolation of detainees by the Turkish Government, which represents a violation of international law.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.07.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 20.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.10.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 09.10.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.09.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.09.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 13.09.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 12.09.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 11.09.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 06.09.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 12.09.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.09.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 09.10.2017