Early day motion 225

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that on 7 July 2017 the United Nations concluded a legally-binding Treaty on the prohibition of nuclear weapons with the object of leading to the total elimination of nuclear weapons; welcomes the fact that the treaty was adopted by 122 states with just one vote against and one abstention; believes that the treaty will be a significant and positive step towards achieving a world free of nuclear weapons; recalls that during a debate on Government plans for replacement of the UK's nuclear weapons system the Secretary of State for Defence said that this Government share the vision of a world that is without nuclear weapons, achieved through multilateral disarmament; is disappointed that the Government did not participate in the UN negotiations; further notes that the treaty will be opened for signature at the United Nations on 20 September 2017; and calls on the Government to develop and publish an appropriate transition plan so that the UK is prepared and ready to sign and ratify the treaty at the first opportunity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 07.09.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 19.07.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 19.07.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 06.09.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 13.09.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 05.09.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.07.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 09.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 19.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 05.09.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.07.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 20.07.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.09.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 20.07.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 19.07.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.09.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 19.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.07.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 20.07.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 11.09.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.07.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 19.07.2017