Early day motion 203

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the New Picture House in St Andrews, in conjunction with the Old Course Hotel, on hosting the UK Premier of Tommy's Honour, which tells the inspirational story of local golfers Old Tom Morris and his son Young Tommy Morris who were from St Andrews, the home of golf; notes that they won eight Open Championships in the 19th century and that Young Tommy's sporting success paved the way for professionals today; further notes the film, based on Kevin Cook's 2007 film of the same name and directed by Jason Connery, made its debut at the Edinburgh International Film Festival last summer where it won a Scottish BAFTA for best feature film; notes that the New Picture House is St Andrews' independent cinema tracing its roots to 1931 and now featuring the latest in digital projection and even RealD 3D; is pleased that sites in North East Fife including Balcarres, Colinsburgh was used for filming; hopes the film helps people, many of whom visit the family remains in the Cathedral cemetery, understand a bit more about the life and outstanding achievements of these iconic figures; and encourages fans of the Morris family, the game of golf and their home in St Andrews, to watch the film.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 10

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 10 out of 10

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.07.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 18.07.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 20.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 05.09.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.09.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 19.07.2017