Early day motion 194

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses grave concern regarding the case of Mr Andy Tsege, a British national who is currently illegally and arbitrarily imprisoned in Ethiopia; expresses its worry for the health and safety of Mr Tsege, who at times has been kept in solitary confinement, has been tortured and ill-treated in detention and has faced attacks in prison; urges the Government to secure the immediate return of Mr Tsege; calls on the Government to ensure that Mr Tsege's case is raised in all private discussions with the Ethiopian authorities to ensure regular consular access in private and contact with his family in London; notes that the Ethiopian Government has said that Mr Tsege is unable to appeal his death sentence and that calls for access to a lawyer for Mr Tsege are not an effective substitute for seeking his immediate return; urges the Government to take a more proactive approach to identifying and intervening in cases where British nationals face human rights violations abroad; and further calls on the Government to state that in all cases regarding British nationals imprisoned abroad, any threat of or actual torture and mistreatment will not be tolerated and will be publicly condemned by the Government.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 17.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 19.07.2017
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.07.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.09.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.07.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.09.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 11.09.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 20.07.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 05.09.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 11.09.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.07.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.09.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 18.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.07.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 20.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 18.07.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 12.09.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 19.10.2017