Early day motion 190

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with deep concern the findings of the recent research report by Refugee Action, Slipping Through The Cracks, that a failure by the Home Office to follow its own guidance for supporting those seeking asylum in the UK is resulting in vulnerable people being wrongly denied assistance or suffering long delays to get the support they are entitled to, and that this is making vulnerable people homeless and leaving them unable to feed their families; further notes that the Refugee Action report follows highly critical reports on the asylum support system by the Home Affairs Committee in January 2017, and the Public Accounts Committee in April 2014; considers it vital that Home Office policy and practice adequately supports all asylum seekers while taking account of the particular needs of the most vulnerable, including victims of torture and trafficking; and calls on the Government urgently to commit to applying existing policy and guidance in all cases, including making decisions on support as quickly as possible, to put into practice a transparent approach to decision-making on asylum support, and to take urgent action to improve the standards and monitoring of asylum accommodation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 93

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 93 out of 93

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 17.07.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 05.09.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Buck, Karen Labour Party Westminster North 17.07.2017
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.07.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 05.09.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.07.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 30.04.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 09.10.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 05.09.2017
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 17.07.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.07.2018
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 17.07.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 31.10.2017
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 17.07.2017
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 22.02.2018
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 13.09.2017
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 20.07.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.07.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 17.07.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 17.07.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 05.09.2017
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 08.05.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 05.09.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 17.07.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 11.09.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 17.07.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.09.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 18.07.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 20.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 17.07.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 05.09.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 05.09.2017
Hardy, Emma Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 25.06.2018
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 05.09.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 17.07.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 17.07.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.09.2017
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 17.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 05.09.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 17.07.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 05.09.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 17.07.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 11.09.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 17.07.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 26.10.2017
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Rochdale 18.07.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 17.07.2017
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 12.09.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 18.07.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 17.07.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 17.07.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 17.07.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 17.07.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.09.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 17.07.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 17.07.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 18.07.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 09.10.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.10.2017
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 05.09.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 17.07.2017
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 11.10.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.10.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 18.07.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.07.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2017
Shah, Naseem Labour Party Bradford West 17.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.07.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2017
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.11.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 20.07.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 24.04.2018
Smith, Owen Labour Party Pontypridd 16.04.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 18.07.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 17.07.2017
Stone, Jamie Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 07.09.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 05.09.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 17.07.2017
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 03.05.2018
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 17.07.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 17.07.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 05.12.2017
Whitfield, Martin Labour Party East Lothian 06.06.2018
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 17.07.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.07.2017
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 26.06.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 05.09.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 17.07.2017