Early day motion 183

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the recurring problem of unauthorised Traveller encampments in many parts of the UK; further notes the ineffective response from various agencies in preventing such encampments, especially in relation to Traveller groups being evicted from one site of public land, often a public park or recreation facility, only to return days or weeks later; believes that police forces do not operate consistent policies in relation to illegal encampments which has led to criminal and anti-social behaviour not being sufficiently dealt with; regrets the courts' reluctance to issue clear injunctions banning Traveller groups from constantly returning to the same site of public land; recognises that the human rights of Traveller groups must be taken into consideration; considers the current arrangements, where local authorities are obliged to seek repeated eviction notices, are placing large costs on local authorities, including those related to the cost of cleaning up and clearing sites after Traveller groups have been evicted; and calls on the Government to review the existing legal powers and procedures already in place to deal with unauthorised encampments and then take all necessary action to prevent the recurring problem of these encampments so that the interests of local residents, who have a right to enjoy the public amenities and facilities that they pay for through their taxes, are effectively protected.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 13.07.2017
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 06.09.2017
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 17.07.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2017
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 13.07.2017
Byrne, Liam Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 13.07.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 13.07.2017
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 13.07.2017
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 13.07.2017
Dromey, Jack Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 13.07.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 13.07.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.07.2017
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 18.07.2017
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2017
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 13.07.2017
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 13.07.2017
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 18.07.2017
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 13.07.2017
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 20.07.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.07.2017
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 13.07.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 13.07.2017
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 16.11.2017
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 13.07.2017
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 05.09.2017
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 13.07.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 17.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.07.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.07.2017
Smith, Eleanor Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 05.09.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 13.07.2017
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 13.07.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 18.07.2017