Early day motion 176

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that work currently undertaken by civilian enforcement officers employed by HM Courts and Tribunals Service should remain in the public sector where they consistently outperform bailiffs employed by authorised enforcement agents in the private sector; notes that the majority of financial penalties enforced by such staff relate to motoring issues, failure to obtain a television licence and other similar matters often involving defaulters who are among the most vulnerable in society; is concerned that the report Taking control: the need for fundamental bailiff reform, published in March 2017, concluded that in the absence of an independent bailiff regulator, the Government's reforms have had a negligible impact on protecting the public from overzealous and aggressive bailiffs; is aware that civilian enforcement officers are invested with the authority to enter and search premises, to arrest and search often vulnerable defaulters and place them in custody before the court; is further concerned by Government plans to give such powers to poorly-regulated private bailiffs who are not subject to the Civil Service Code; deeply regrets that a previous attempt to privatise the enforcement of financial penalties was abandoned at an extraordinary cost to the public purse; and therefore urges the Government to retain the effective, safe and fair enforcement of criminal fines within the public sector rather than risk the safety and finances of the public through privatisation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 20.07.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 11.09.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.07.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.07.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.07.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 12.09.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.01.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.09.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 13.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 30.04.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 12.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 13.07.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 05.09.2017
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 16.04.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 17.10.2017
O'Mara, Jared INDEPENDENT Sheffield Hallam 07.11.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.07.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 17.07.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 05.09.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.07.2017