Early day motion 165

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concerns about the tendering of Ministry of Defence (MoD) guarding services; rejects any change in contracting of MoD guards which removes the emphasis from safety and security; urges the Government not to indulge in a cost-cutting exercise; is appalled by reports that, if taken over by a contractor, commercial guards could be guarding a supermarket one day and a nuclear site the next; values the levels of experience, expertise and training current MoD guards have in reserve; recognises the difficulties of MoD security contracts already awarded to the private sector; notes that value for money is a factor in the procurement process and presses for any comparisons drawn during the decision-making process to be made on a level playing field; is alarmed by talk of companies sub-contracting even before the contract has been awarded; and urges that the decision on tendering is made in the public interest.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.07.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.07.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 20.07.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 19.12.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 17.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.07.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 13.07.2017
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 27.02.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.10.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.07.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.07.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 13.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.07.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 09.10.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 05.09.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 11.07.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 18.07.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 17.07.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.07.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 11.07.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 11.07.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 18.07.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.10.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 05.09.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 20.07.2017
Pollard, Luke Labour Party Plymouth Sutton and Devonport 17.07.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 17.07.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.10.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.07.2017
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 11.09.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 13.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 11.07.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 20.07.2017
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 20.02.2018
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 23.04.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 09.10.2017