Early day motion 163

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled by the derisory pay settlement that has been imposed upon staff at the Bank of England; notes that the staff affected are dedicated workers fulfilling a range of functions within the organisation including security and maintenance; expresses concern that this is the second year running that staff have been given a below inflation pay offer; raises concerns that as the pay distribution is at the discretion of the management this means that some staff will not receive a pay rise in 2017 whatsoever; contrasts this with the rising cost of living; highlights the difficulties these workers face in making ends meet on such low wages; sees it as a mark of shame that the iconic symbol of UK financial services is actually snubbing low paid and vulnerable workers in spite of their hard work and dedication to their jobs; and urges the Bank of England to go back to the negotiating table with the trade union, Unite in order to avoid industrial action and engage in meaningful discussion to bring an end to this dispute.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.07.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.07.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 20.07.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 17.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 13.07.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 14.09.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.09.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.07.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 13.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 20.07.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 12.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 11.07.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.07.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 11.07.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 11.07.2017
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 20.07.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 20.07.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.07.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 13.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 11.07.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 20.07.2017