Early day motion 1545

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern at the planned increase in the small claims limit for personal injury; regrets the small claims limit increase is not on the face of the Civil Liability Bill and unable to be debated; further regrets the proposal to increase the small claims limit by 100 per cent from £1,000 to £2,000 in all personal injury claims and from £1,000 to £5,000 in all road traffic injury cases; notes that CPI inflation from the last change in the small claims limit in 1999 would only see an increase to less than £1,500; regrets the decision to ignore Lord Justice Jackson's recommendation against any increase above £1,500; notes the Justice Select Committee's recommendation that the small claims limit for personal injury should only be increased to reflect inflation from 1999; believes that an increase in the small claims limit will have severe consequences on access to justice; and calls on the Government to withdraw its current plans for any increase in the small claims limit.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 23.07.2018
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 23.07.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.09.2018
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 23.07.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 23.07.2018
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 23.07.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 23.07.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 24.07.2018
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 10.09.2018
Dent Coad, Emma Labour Party Kensington 23.07.2018
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.07.2018
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 23.07.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.07.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 06.09.2018
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 23.07.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 23.07.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 23.07.2018
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 23.07.2018
Hardy, Emma Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 24.07.2018
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 23.07.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 04.09.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 13.09.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.09.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 23.07.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.09.2018
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 23.07.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 06.09.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.09.2018
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 23.07.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 23.07.2018
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 04.09.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 04.09.2018
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 23.07.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 23.07.2018
Morgan, Stephen Labour Party Portsmouth South 24.07.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 24.07.2018
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 11.09.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 23.07.2018
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 23.07.2018
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.07.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.07.2018
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 23.07.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 23.07.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 23.07.2018
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 04.09.2018
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 23.07.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 23.07.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 09.10.2018
Whitfield, Martin Labour Party East Lothian 23.07.2018
Williams, Paul Labour Party Stockton South 09.10.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 04.09.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 23.07.2018