Early day motion 1544

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Government is closing Childcare Vouchers to new entrants from 4 October 2018 without having conducted a proper analysis of the winners and losers from removing the scheme and replacing it with Tax-Free Childcare, despite a recommendation to so do by the Treasury Select Committee; further notes that families must be able to make an informed choice about the childcare that best suits their family needs, based on a comprehensive and flexible package of support; recognises the benefits of Tax-Free Childcare for certain family types, but is concerned that many low-income families will be worse off than if they were to carry on using Childcare Vouchers; calls on the Government to keep Childcare Vouchers open alongside Tax-Free Childcare so that parents can choose the scheme that offers the most support to their family; and urges the Government to ensure that hon. Members are given the opportunity to debate and vote on these proposed changes on the floor of the House before they are fully implemented.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 82

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 82 out of 82

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 09.10.2018
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 13.09.2018
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 11.09.2018
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 05.09.2018
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 23.07.2018
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 23.07.2018
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.09.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.09.2018
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 12.09.2018
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 23.07.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.07.2018
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 23.07.2018
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 04.09.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 23.07.2018
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.11.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 23.07.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 24.07.2018
Daby, Janet Labour Party Lewisham East 05.09.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 04.09.2018
Dhesi, Tan Labour Party Slough 23.07.2018
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.07.2018
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 23.07.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 12.09.2018
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 09.10.2018
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.07.2018
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 23.07.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 23.07.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 23.07.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.07.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 24.07.2018
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 10.09.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 23.07.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 04.09.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 09.10.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 04.09.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 23.07.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 10.10.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.09.2018
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 04.09.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 23.07.2018
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 16.10.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 24.07.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.07.2018
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.09.2018
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 23.07.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 24.07.2018
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.09.2018
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 10.09.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 09.10.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 23.07.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 04.09.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 13.09.2018
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.09.2018
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 24.07.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 24.07.2018
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.09.2018
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 11.09.2018
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.07.2018
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 09.10.2018
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 23.07.2018
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 23.07.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 04.09.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.09.2018
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.07.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 04.09.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.07.2018
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.09.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 23.07.2018
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 23.07.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 11.09.2018
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 09.10.2018
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 09.10.2018
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 04.09.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 23.07.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 04.09.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 24.07.2018
Whitfield, Martin Labour Party East Lothian 09.10.2018
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 10.09.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 09.10.2018
Woodcock, John INDEPENDENT Barrow and Furness 24.07.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 23.07.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 04.09.2018