Early day motion 1501

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned to hear reports that the directors of Hitachi, who will be developing the proposed Wylfa nuclear power station, have sought safeguards to reduce or eliminate the firm's financial responsibility for accidents at the site; notes this follows two serious safety breaches in Hitachi's nuclear developments, one of which resulted in a $2.7 million fine from the US Government; believes that, given that liability for nuclear developers is already capped at 1.3 billion Euros in the event of a nuclear incident as agreed in the Brussels and Paris conventions, it is only right that private providers of nuclear power bear their fair share of the financial impact of safety breaches; is disappointed that the socialising of these risks comes on the back of reports that the Government will underwrite Wylfa through a 2 trillion yen loan to Hitachi while saddling consumers with high energy prices as a result of a proposed £77.50/MWH strike price, despite alternative sources being cheaper, including offshore wind which can deliver power at £57.50/MW; is further concerned that Hitachi's private profits would be so protected without the firm accepting corresponding costs; and calls on the Government to provide urgent reassurances that it will not press ahead with the Wylfa power station development until protection for consumers and taxpayers is secured.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 10.07.2018
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 10.07.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 10.07.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 10.09.2018
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 10.07.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 10.07.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 10.07.2018
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 10.07.2018
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 10.07.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 10.07.2018
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.09.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 10.07.2018
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 10.07.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 10.07.2018