Early day motion 15

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the key findings of research funded by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and undertaken by the Equality and Human Rights Commission that some 54,000 women per year are forced out of work by pregnancy or maternity discrimination, and that three out of four working mothers endure negative or discriminatory treatment at work; further notes that four out of five women who responded to a recent survey by the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists and the Maternal Mental Health Alliance experienced at least one episode of a mental health problem during or after their pregnancy; is concerned that, due to a lack of free legal advice, the prohibitive cost of employment tribunal fees and a restrictive time limit of three months, fewer than one per cent of the women affected by pregnancy or maternity discrimination bring an employment tribunal claim; welcomes the clear recommendations by the Equality and Human Rights Commission and both the Justice Committee and Women and Equalities Committee that the time limit for pregnancy and maternity discrimination claims be increased to six months; and calls on the Government to demonstrate its very welcome commitment to tackling such unlawful discrimination by acting on this recommendation at the earliest possible opportunity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 103

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 103 out of 103

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 21.06.2017
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 29.06.2017
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 21.06.2017
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 04.07.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 21.06.2017
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 21.06.2017
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 11.09.2017
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 21.06.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.06.2017
Brabin, Tracy Labour Party Batley and Spen 21.06.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 26.06.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.09.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 21.06.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.06.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 21.06.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 05.09.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 20.07.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 05.09.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 27.06.2017
Coyle, Neil Labour Party Bermondsey and Old Southwark 21.06.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.06.2017
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 27.06.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.06.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 21.06.2017
Dodds, Anneliese Labour Party Oxford East 21.06.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 21.06.2017
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.06.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.06.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 21.06.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 21.06.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 05.09.2017
Fletcher, Colleen Labour Party Coventry North East 28.06.2017
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 21.06.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.06.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 21.06.2017
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.07.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 29.06.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 22.06.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 04.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 04.07.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 21.06.2017
Hardy, Emma Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 21.06.2017
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 21.06.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 21.06.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 04.07.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 11.10.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.06.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.06.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 03.07.2017
Jones, Sarah Labour Party Croydon Central 18.07.2017
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 21.06.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 21.06.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 21.06.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 03.07.2017
Lee, Karen Labour Party Lincoln 21.06.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 21.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 26.06.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 20.07.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 21.06.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 03.07.2017
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 21.06.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 21.06.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 26.06.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 18.07.2017
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 22.06.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 26.06.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.06.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 27.06.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 21.06.2017
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 21.06.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 21.06.2017
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 04.07.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 05.09.2017
Onn, Melanie Labour Party Great Grimsby 21.06.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.06.2017
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 04.07.2017
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 06.07.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 21.06.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 21.06.2017
Platt, Joanne Labour Party Leigh 27.06.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 29.06.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 26.06.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 09.10.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.06.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.06.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 21.06.2017
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 06.07.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 05.09.2017
Smith, Laura Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 29.06.2017
Snell, Gareth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 27.06.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 27.06.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 22.06.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 23.04.2018
Swinson, Jo [R] Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 21.06.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 21.06.2017
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 06.07.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 29.06.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 04.07.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 21.06.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 05.09.2017