Early day motion 1496

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that cancer patients in Northern Ireland have now faced two years of inequitable access to cancer medicines compared to the rest of the UK, as they are not able to access medicines recommended by NICE under the NICE/Cancer Drugs Fund process, despite Northern Ireland and committing to follow NICE guidance in the 2013 Circular HSC (SQSD) 2/13; further notes that Health and Social Care organisations in Northern Ireland have a statutory duty to put in place the systems to implement NICE guidance; notes that if these NICE recommendations had been followed in Northern Ireland, around 670 patients would have had access to new cancer medicines since July 2016, meaning approximately 32 patients every month have been denied treatment available elsewhere in the UK; and calls on the Northern Ireland Government to take concerted action to address this issue of inequity of access.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 12.07.2018
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.07.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.09.2018
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.07.2018
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 09.07.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 24.07.2018
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.07.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.07.2018
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 09.07.2018
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 10.07.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 10.07.2018
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 10.07.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.07.2018
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.07.2018
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 09.07.2018