Early day motion 144

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that a ban on the use of wild animals in circuses was included in the manifestos of the Labour, Plaid Cymru and Green parties at the 2017 General Election; recalls that 94 per cent of respondents to a Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs public consultation supported a ban and the House voted unanimously in favour of such a ban in 2011; further notes that currently two circuses with fewer than 20 wild animals are touring England and Wales; notes that a deadline of December 2015 was included in the Government’s draft Wild Animals in Circuses Bill; notes that the UK has fallen behind 31 countries which have introduced similar national measures; and calls on the Government to bring forward this manifesto commitment at the earliest opportunity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 12.09.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 11.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 13.07.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.07.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 17.07.2017
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 10.07.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.07.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 13.03.2018
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 19.07.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.07.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.07.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 05.09.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 10.07.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.07.2017
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 20.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.07.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 17.07.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.07.2017
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 18.07.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 10.07.2017