Early day motion 1424

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes Seafarers Awareness Week 2018, 23 to 30 June 2018, and its theme of UK maritime employment opportunities; recognises the socio­economic and strategic value of the UK's traditional role as a centre of maritime employment, training and skills; further welcomes the 18 per cent growth in the UK Ship Register over the last three years; notes that shipping companies have enjoyed tax concessions worth £1.87 billion since the introduction of the Tonnage Tax; further notes that the total number of seafarer jobs on vessels owned by UK Chamber of Shipping member companies has increased by over 26,100 since 2013; regrets that UK seafarers accounted for under nine per cent of that growth in maritime employment; notes that UK seafarers are ageing, with over 70 per cent of deck, engine and general purpose ratings more than 40 years old; supports the RMT trades union's call for employment, taxation, equality and immigration law reforms to increase maritime training and employment opportunities for UK seafarers which would replenish the national maritime skills base; and calls on the Government to enact such reforms as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 39

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 39 out of 39

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.06.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 16.07.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.06.2018
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 19.06.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 25.06.2018
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 19.06.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 19.06.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.06.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 20.06.2018
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 20.06.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 20.06.2018
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 25.06.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 02.07.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 20.06.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.06.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 16.07.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 04.07.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.06.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 25.06.2018
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 19.06.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.06.2018
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 25.06.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 25.06.2018
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 27.06.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 26.06.2018
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 16.07.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 25.06.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 19.06.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 19.06.2018
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 10.07.2018
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 20.06.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 26.06.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 21.06.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 20.06.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.06.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 20.06.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 19.06.2018
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 12.07.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 19.06.2018