Early day motion 1409

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends the commitment, bravery and dedication shown by prison officers, who face challenging, dangerous and physically demanding working conditions on a daily basis; notes that the Prisons Act 1952 confirms that a serving prison officer shall have all the powers, authority, protection and privileges of a police constable; believes that the prison service must be treated as a uniformed service alongside the police service, fire service and armed forces; regrets that the retirement age for prison officers has risen to 68, compared to 60 for members of the other uniformed services; and calls on the Government to lower the retirement age for prison officers to 60 as a matter of urgency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 20.06.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 26.06.2018
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 25.06.2018
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 19.06.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.06.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.06.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 19.06.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.06.2018
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 18.06.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 02.07.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 20.06.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.06.2018
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 15.06.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.07.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 19.06.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 27.06.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.06.2018
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 15.06.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.06.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 20.06.2018
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 06.07.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 18.06.2018
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 15.06.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 26.06.2018
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 20.06.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 21.06.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.06.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.06.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 15.06.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 28.06.2018
Stone, Jamie Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 15.06.2018
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 21.06.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 15.06.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 15.06.2018