Early day motion 137

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the recent report by HM Chief Inspector of Prisons of the unannounced inspection of Feltham Young Offenders Institution; further notes the High Court ruling that a 16-year old prisoner was unlawfully denied access to education and the ability to mix with other inmates; notes that Feltham A, which houses boys aged 15 to 18, has seen a decline in standards, increased levels of violence and use of force since the last inspection in 2015, with HM Chief Inspector of Prisons saying it is quite simply, not safe for either staff or boys, and the restricted regime to which they were subjected did little or nothing to contribute to their education, socialisation or, clearly, their safety; notes that 19,000 hours of schooling were lost last year through non-attendance and class cancellation, and boys were on average receiving 7.5 hours of schooling a week; notes that staff numbers have fallen by 23 per cent since 2013; notes that the report praises the hard work and courage of the staff working in very difficult and often dangerous conditions but describes shortages limiting their capacity to act, stating for example the antisocial behaviour team were too often redeployed to other duties due to staffing shortages; and calls on the Government to urgently review Feltham and other young offender institutions' staffing levels, funding and safety.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 20.07.2017
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 05.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.07.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 06.12.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 05.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2017
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 05.07.2017
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 05.07.2017
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 05.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 05.07.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz [R] Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.07.2017
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 05.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.07.2017