Early day motion 1276

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House House welcomes the publication of the Unhappier Meal report by a coalition of European and US trades unions detailing tax avoidance strategies pursued by the global fast food corporation McDonald's, which saw global sales reach $90 billion in 2017 alone; notes that the company's 2015 reorganisation saw the headquarters of McD Europe Franchising Sàrl relocated from Luxembourg to Delaware in the US, a jurisdiction with very limited disclosure requirements; further notes that this reorganisation also interposed a range of subsidiaries in multiple jurisdictions between the newly named McD Europe Franchising LLC and its holding subsidiaries with the effect of reducing the level of transparency and information available in McDonald's public filings; is concerned that McDonald's is able to rely on multiple subsidiaries or related companies in countries listed on the EU's list of non-cooperative jurisdictions, including the Cayman Islands, Bermuda and Hong Kong; and calls on the Government to ensure that companies operating in the UK cannot use opaque structures based domestically or overseas to avoid paying in full their proper share of tax.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.05.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.05.2018
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 27.06.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.05.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 22.05.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 24.05.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 21.05.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 22.05.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.05.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 16.05.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 05.06.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 16.05.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.05.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 16.05.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.05.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.05.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 21.05.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 16.05.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 24.05.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 23.05.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 16.05.2018