Early day motion 1266

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with dismay that human rights abuses are commonplace in Bahrain; further notes that 14 civilians were placed on death row in 2017; condemns that forced confessions through torture are often accepted as evidence when sentencing civilians; deplores that several Bahraini human rights defenders and their families have been wrongly sentenced and imprisoned; notes that the Government is providing £5 million of technical assistance to the Bahraini regime and a further £1.5 million is to be spent in the financial year 2017-18; notes that this funding has been spent on supposedly bipartisan institutions that are responsible for handling allegations of torture, but to which the UN Committee Against Torture has referred to as not independent and not effective; believes that the refusal of the Cabinet Office to disclose any information about the Foreign and Commonwealth's Integrated Activity Fund in a recent freedom of information request is an unprecedented development in the history of technical assistance which signifies that the Bahraini funding programme is now less transparent than ever before; and calls on the Government to publish details of the Integrated Activity Fund as a matter of urgency and to categorically confirm that the Integrated Activity Fund is not being used to undermine human rights in Bahrain.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 13.06.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 12.06.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 14.06.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.05.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 16.05.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 15.05.2018
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.05.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 24.07.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 12.06.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.05.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.05.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 15.05.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.05.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 22.05.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 05.06.2018
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 27.06.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.05.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.05.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 04.09.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 16.05.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 15.05.2018