Early day motion 123

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House continues to be extremely concerned about the on-going crackdown on media workers, lawyers, public servants, parliamentarians and non-violent political activists in Turkey; notes that many parliamentarians, including Enis Berberoglu, Figen Yuksekdag and Selahattin Demirtas and over 150 media professionals, including Ahmet Altan, Ahmet Sik and Musa Kart, are being prosecuted on spurious charges; further notes that, since the coup attempt in July 2016, authorities in Turkey have reportedly arrested 50,000 people, sacked or suspended 150,000, and shut down over 100 media outlets; hopes that those on the March for Justice from Ankara to Istanbul, led by the leader of the CHP opposition party, are able to conclude their peaceful protest without incident; fears that the attempted coup is being used as yet another pretext to muzzle dissent and purge opponents and that Turkey's long-term stability is being undermined; categorically condemns the use of violence, including attempts to subvert democratically-elected governments by force; and calls on the Government to press the importance of respect for fundamental human rights and rule of law, as well as to raise specific concerns and cases, with counterparts in Turkey, including at the highest levels, as a matter of urgency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 11.07.2017
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 04.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.07.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.07.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 11.07.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 20.07.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 11.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 11.07.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 12.07.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.07.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 18.07.2017
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 09.01.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 05.07.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 11.07.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 06.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.07.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 11.07.2017