Early day motion 1182

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the Home Office's long track record of delay, maladministration and poor quality decision-making while implementing increasingly harsh anti-immigrant policies; deplores the cruel and grossly unfair treatment of Commonwealth citizens legally resident in the UK, including denial of NHS health care, dismissal from employment, arbitrary detention under Immigration Act powers, threat of removal from the UK and destitution; believes that such mistreatment is a direct result of deliberate policies, and in particular the then Home Secretary's creation of a hostile environment under the Immigration Act 2014, which places an unreasonable onus on individuals to produce often long lost evidence of residence; deeply regrets the failure of the then Home Secretary to act upon policy recommendations set out in the October 2014 Legal Action Group report Chasing Status, which included establishing a specialist unit within the Home Office to deal with Windrush Generation cases; commends the work of the Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants, Praxis Community Projects, the Refugee and Migrant Centre and others in supporting individuals stripped of their legal rights; welcomes the current Home Secretary's belated acknowledgement that the Home Office has become too concerned with policy and strategy and sometimes loses sight of the individual; and calls on the Government to establish an independent commission to review Home Office policies and practice, their impact on black and minority ethnic communities and how they might be reformed to improve fairness and efficiency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 90

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 90 out of 90

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amesbury, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 23.04.2018
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 10.05.2018
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 19.04.2018
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 19.04.2018
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 01.05.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 19.04.2018
Buck, Karen Labour Party Westminster North 24.04.2018
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 23.04.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 24.05.2018
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 23.04.2018
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 01.05.2018
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 23.04.2018
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 23.04.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 23.04.2018
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 19.04.2018
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 23.04.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 24.04.2018
De Cordova, Marsha Labour Party Battersea 24.04.2018
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 25.04.2018
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 23.04.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 19.04.2018
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 24.04.2018
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 30.04.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 30.04.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.04.2018
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 10.05.2018
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.04.2018
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 25.04.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 08.05.2018
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 19.04.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.04.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 23.04.2018
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 19.04.2018
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 23.04.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 23.04.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 21.05.2018
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 30.04.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 23.04.2018
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 19.04.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 23.04.2018
Hollern, Kate Labour Party Blackburn 24.04.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.04.2018
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 23.04.2018
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.04.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 23.04.2018
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 23.04.2018
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 19.04.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 19.04.2018
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 19.04.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.04.2018
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 25.04.2018
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 21.05.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 25.04.2018
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.04.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 23.04.2018
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 19.04.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 25.04.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 23.04.2018
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 23.04.2018
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 19.04.2018
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 19.04.2018
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 25.04.2018
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 25.04.2018
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 19.04.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 19.04.2018
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 23.04.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.04.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 23.04.2018
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 26.04.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 23.04.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.04.2018
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 23.04.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 19.04.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 23.04.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 23.04.2018
Stone, Jamie Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 19.04.2018
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 23.04.2018
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 23.04.2018
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 23.04.2018
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 23.04.2018
Turley, Anna Labour Party Redcar 23.04.2018
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.04.2018
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 23.04.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 23.04.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 02.05.2018
Whitfield, Martin Labour Party East Lothian 19.04.2018
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 23.04.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 19.04.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 23.04.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 23.04.2018