Early day motion 1147

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 28 March 2018 marks the 58th anniversary of the Cheapside Street fire; understands that, on 28 March 1960, a fire broke out at a whisky warehouse in Cheapside Street in Anderston, which caused the rupturing of several rum and whisky casks, resulting in a major explosion which claimed the lives of 19 firefighters and salvage officers; remembers the bravery and sacrifice of those who lost their lives, Fireman John Allen, Fireman Christopher Boyle, Sub Officer James Calder, Fireman Gordon Chapman, Fireman William Crockett, Fireman Archibald Darroch, Fireman Daniel Davidson, Fireman Alfred Dickinson, Fireman Alexander Grassie, Salvageman Gordon McMillan, Fireman Ian McMillan, Fireman George McIntyre, Sub Officer John McPherson, Leading Salvageman James McLellan, Fireman Edward McMillan, Salvageman James Mungall, Superintendent Edward Murray, Salvageman William Oliver and Fireman William Watson; and commends the amazing work the UK's firefighters and emergency services do every day to protect everyone in the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 13

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 13 out of 13

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 16.04.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 29.03.2018
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 16.04.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 17.04.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 28.03.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 23.04.2018
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 17.04.2018
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 16.04.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 16.04.2018
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 16.04.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.03.2018
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 17.04.2018
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 28.03.2018