Early day motion 1140

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the Government's publication of the Civil Liability Bill; supports the Government's intention to reduce fraudulent and frivolous claims; expresses concern that vulnerable road users (VRUs), including cyclists, pedestrians, horse riders and motorcyclists, will be swept up within the scope of the Bill and the broader personal injury reform package, despite there being no evidence that non-fault road traffic accident injuries suffered by VRUs include whiplash; further notes that almost all whiplash claims are made by drivers or passengers of motor vehicles; believes that VRUs deserve the Government's protection, as opposed to removing their rights to redress for injuries under Tort; acknowledges that under such reforms, VRUs suffering injuries below £5,000 in value will be unable to access a lawyer should they wish to pursue their rights of redress in the Courts; and urges the Government to take a pragmatic approach and remove VRUs from the scope of the reforms to ensure they remain protected on the UK's roads.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 90

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 90 out of 90

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 23.04.2018
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 01.05.2018
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 04.06.2018
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 26.04.2018
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 21.05.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 23.04.2018
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.04.2018
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 08.05.2018
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 16.04.2018
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 08.05.2018
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.05.2018
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 05.06.2018
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.04.2018
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 26.06.2018
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 16.04.2018
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 08.05.2018
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 30.04.2018
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 23.04.2018
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 30.04.2018
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 26.04.2018
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 30.04.2018
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 16.04.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 24.04.2018
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw 08.05.2018
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.04.2018
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 14.05.2018
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 17.04.2018
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 30.04.2018
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 23.04.2018
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 30.04.2018
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.05.2018
Girvan, Paul Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 01.05.2018
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 24.04.2018
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 17.05.2018
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 24.04.2018
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 16.04.2018
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 16.04.2018
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 17.05.2018
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 02.05.2018
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.05.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 23.04.2018
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 30.04.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.04.2018
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 25.06.2018
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 30.04.2018
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 24.04.2018
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.06.2018
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 30.04.2018
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 17.07.2018
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 09.05.2018
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 04.06.2018
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 24.04.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 02.05.2018
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 25.04.2018
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 30.04.2018
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 18.04.2018
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.06.2018
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 06.09.2018
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 03.05.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 16.04.2018
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 16.04.2018
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.05.2018
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 19.04.2018
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 23.04.2018
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 02.05.2018
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 16.04.2018
Rashid, Faisal Labour Party Warrington South 30.04.2018
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 08.05.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.05.2018
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.03.2018
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 15.05.2018
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 30.04.2018
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 08.05.2018
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 30.04.2018
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 24.04.2018
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 16.04.2018
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 01.05.2018
Stone, Jamie Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 01.05.2018
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 23.05.2018
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 16.04.2018
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 21.05.2018
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 23.04.2018
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 14.05.2018
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 28.03.2018
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 18.04.2018
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 21.05.2018
Williams, Paul Labour Party Stockton South 08.05.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 08.05.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 23.04.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 09.05.2018