Early day motion 11

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that African elephants are facing an unprecedented crisis with an average of one killed every 15 minutes for its ivory; welcomes the action taken internationally by the Government to combat the ivory trade and protect elephants in their natural habitat; further recognises that both the illegal ivory trade and the existence of legal domestic markets are helping to fuel this trade; notes that ivory, both legal and illegal, is being traded on a daily basis within the UK; further notes that illegal ivory items seized by police and the Border Force in the UK has been falsely antiqued using artificial stains or ageing techniques, and are clearly destined for the legal antique market; notes that domestic ivory markets are known to provide cover for the illegal trade in ivory and also reinforce the high value of ivory across and the world; notes that China has announced a domestic ivory trade ban by the end of 2017; and calls on the Government to press for a total ban on ivory sales and to close down the UK ivory market, including that of antique ivory, with immediate effect.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 108

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 108 out of 108

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 14.09.2017
Allan, Lucy Conservative Party Telford 06.02.2018
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 07.03.2018
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 26.04.2018
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 17.10.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.09.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 25.10.2017
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith 10.07.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 03.07.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 24.10.2017
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 30.10.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 06.11.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 14.11.2017
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.07.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 05.09.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 09.10.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 25.10.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 01.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 26.06.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.06.2017
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.01.2018
Doughty, Stephen Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 22.06.2017
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.06.2017
Duffield, Rosie Labour Party Canterbury 14.09.2017
Eagle, Maria Labour Party Garston and Halewood 14.09.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.06.2017
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 14.09.2017
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 05.02.2018
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.11.2017
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 02.11.2017
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 14.09.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 26.06.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.10.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.06.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 26.02.2018
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 25.10.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 06.02.2018
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 14.09.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 02.11.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 13.11.2017
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 02.11.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 13.11.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 14.09.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.06.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 21.06.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 15.01.2018
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.06.2017
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 14.09.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 22.02.2018
Huq, Rupa Labour Party Ealing Central and Acton 07.03.2018
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 14.09.2017
Kinnock, Stephen Labour Party Aberavon 05.09.2017
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 28.06.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 07.11.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 23.11.2017
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 14.09.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 29.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 20.02.2018
Little Pengelly, Emma Democratic Unionist Party Belfast South 14.09.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 13.11.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.09.2017
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 21.06.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 27.06.2017
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 14.09.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.09.2017
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 07.11.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 07.11.2017
McMorrin, Anna Labour Party Cardiff North 14.09.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 16.05.2018
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.01.2018
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 07.11.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.12.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.01.2018
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 12.03.2018
Norris, Alex Labour Party Nottingham North 14.09.2017
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 07.11.2017
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.06.2017
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 21.06.2018
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 04.07.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 26.06.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 28.02.2018
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 22.06.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.06.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.11.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 14.09.2017
Siddiq, Tulip Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.03.2018
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.06.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 28.06.2017
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 20.02.2018
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 14.09.2017
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 29.06.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 22.06.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 10.07.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 22.06.2017
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 14.09.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 26.10.2017
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 14.09.2017
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 06.02.2018
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 22.02.2018
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 27.02.2018
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 06.03.2018
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 30.01.2018
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 05.02.2018
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 29.01.2018
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 05.12.2017