Early day motion 109

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 331 of Northern Rail's 527 stations are unstaffed; is concerned that the Government and Northern Rail's proposals to remove the guarantee of a guard on every Northern Rail train will mean many people with disabilities will not be able to turn up and go and travel if there is no guarantee of a second member of staff to assist them on and off the train; understands that where Driver-Only Operation on Southern Rail has recently been introduced there have been a number of instances of wheelchair users being stranded at stations; believes that by removing train guards Northern Rail will be in breach of Rail Vehicle Access Regulations that require every train to have a ramp and staff to operate the ramp for passengers who require assistance; and calls on the Government, Rail North and Northern Rail to protect disabled passengers’ access to Northern Rail services by retaining the guarantee of a guard on every train.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 09.10.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.07.2017
Carden, Dan Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.07.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.07.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.07.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 26.10.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 03.07.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 27.11.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 05.07.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 03.07.2017
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 18.07.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 23.10.2017
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.07.2017
Hill, Mike Labour Party Hartlepool 04.07.2017
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 03.07.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin [R] Labour Party Luton North 05.07.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 13.07.2017
Matheson, Chris Labour Party City of Chester 03.07.2017
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 13.11.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 03.07.2017
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.07.2017
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 05.09.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 03.07.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.07.2017
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 04.07.2017
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 03.07.2017
Smith, Laura Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 30.10.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 05.07.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 03.07.2017
Turley, Anna Labour Party Redcar 09.10.2017
Twist, Liz Labour Party Blaydon 14.09.2017
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 25.01.2018
Woodcock, John Labour Party Barrow and Furness 09.10.2017